All classrooms have an interactive English Working Wall which is used to support learning.


In Early Years children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum(EYFS)

This is made up of 7 areas of learning.

The areas linked to Literacy are:-

  • Communication and Language (C&L)
  • Literacy (Reading and Writing)

In Key Stage One and Two, children follow the National Curriculum.

The National Curriculum divides English into:


  • word reading
  • comprehension (both listening and reading).

Children in Early Years and Key Stage One are encouraged to take their reading books home each night to share with their parents/carers. This is known as Home/School Reading.

At Key Stage Two, children are encouraged to read widely, and to discuss and write about the books they have read with increasing perception. Parents can provide valuable assistance with this development process. All the children in Key Stage two have a home reading record. The children also have yellow in school reading record which is used for independent school reading and 1:1 reading sessions.

KS1 Reading Schemes

Early Years

In Early Years we introduce letters and sounds and books that the children can read themselves. The reading scheme we use is: Oxford Reading Tree

These books help the children to build on the phonics work that they complete in class each day.

Key Stage One

In Key Stage One, the good work in Early Years is continued. Reading is taught through:

Whole class reading sessions in the last term in Year 1 and continued in Year 2.

Individual reading- children read their reading book one to one with an adult.

There is also still a strong emphasis on phonics (letters and sounds) with group work continuing to take place particularly in Year 1.

The main reading scheme that is used in school in EYFS and in KS1 is Oxford Reading Tree.

KS2 Reading Schemes:

In Key Stage 2, the children take part in a whole class reading each morning between 9:00 and 9:30am. The children record their work in a reading activities book. These reading sessions consist of a range of question types including:

  • retrieval and inference
  • true and false
  • similar words
  • description
  • meanings of words
  • ordering

Individual reading- children read their reading book one to one with an adult. This takes place during assembly times or after lunch time.


  • handwriting
  • punctuation and grammar
  • composition
  • spelling

All classes from Year 1 – Year 6 have adopted the book-led writing curriculum.

Spelling, vocabulary, grammar, punctuation

Grammar and punctuation are taught within writing sessions. Children are taught specific grammar/punctuation terms and apply these to their written work. Grammar and punctuation terminology is introduced in different year groups. A glossary of all the grammar and punctuation terms used within the primary school curriculum can be downloaded by clicking on the link.

Children at the end of Key Stage 1 (Year 2) and Key Stage 2 (Year 6) sit a spelling, grammar and punctuation test.

Children are provided with age-appropriate spellings to learn each week and the children are tested upon these spellings.


We teach systematic, synthetic phonics on a daily basis using the LCP scheme as a planning tool as it works in line with letters and sounds.

Phonics in Early Years Foundation Stage

In the Autumn term we hold a phonics meeting for parents in our Foundation Stage. During the phonics meeting we look at:

  • The basic skills covered in our phonics teaching
  • The phonic phases children go through to learn to read and write well and confidently
  • Handwriting in Foundation Stage
  • How providing additional support at home can help children achieve the best results
  • Sharing videos of how phonics is taught in our Foundation Stage
  • Opportunity to look at phonics resources and activities and speak with members of EYFS staff.

EYFS Phonics Presentation

Useful websites and information booklets to support you with phonics at home.

Oxford Owl

ICT Games

Phonics Play

Letters and Sounds

Aspect 1 Environmental

Aspect 2 Instrumental

Aspect 3 Body Percussion

Aspect 4 Rhythm and Rhyme

Aspect 5 Alliteration

Aspect 6 Voice Sounds

Aspect 7 Oral Blending

Phase 2

Phase 3

Phase 4

Phase 5

Phase 6


  • Grammar and Punctuation Glossary

  • Reading Non-Negotiables

  • Writing Non-Negotiables

small trust logo
small trust logo

The Accord Multi Academy Trust is an educational charity established in September 2016 that is currently made up of four academies who were the founding members of the Trust. In September 2016 Horbury Academy and Ossett Academy & Sixth Form College came together, moving away from their stand-alone Trust status and were joined in December 2016 by Horbury Primary Academy and Middlestown Primary Academy.

The overarching vision for the Trust is to work in one ‘Accord – celebrating the differences of each academy through strong collaboration in order to inspire all members of our learning community to be the best that they can be.

Trust Website

Our Academies